1. This sub-forum relates to Kayako 3, which is now end-of-life. Please be aware that a lot of information relating to features, sales and the roadmap in the Kayako 3 forums is now outdated or defunct (no longer applicable).

If unsure about anything, please create a new thread or contact us.

You can visit the main forums for the latest Kayako here.

IMap removes messages from server? Stupidity...

Discussion in 'Email piping' started by RobertBasil, Oct 24, 2008.

1. RobertBasil

RobertBasil Member

Background:

I am the Internet Systems Manager for our company, I have been a mail server admin and DBA for 15+ years. So when I ask this question understand that I am not someone who does not know what he is talking about...

I fail to realize why your Imap option would choose to remove messages from the server automatically without the client choosing to do so and have no option available to leave messages on the server. The purpose of Imap is to SYNC with the server and only remove messages IF they are deleted by the client. If you are going to remove messages from the server automatically without an option to leave them on the server then why even offer Imap as an option?

In fact when I talked to your support department they told me that this was a setting on my server. And your software was not removing the messages. TOTALLY WRONG!

I read another message in the forum from one of the developers (John Haugeland) that stated: "This is how the product works. The manual is fairly clear on the point. Not a bug"

Well, it might not be a bug, but it does not work as a standard Imap connection should. So instead of using the standard of Imap you just connect to the Imap port on a server and then treat it like a POP account. And instead of explaining this in the feature list to us before we spend hours of our time configuring the software you expect people to read the manual about a broken feature.

Yes, I'm pissed. :mad: