Android Recompile Android for BB?

Discussion in 'Kayako Mobile' started by monker, Feb 22, 2012.

1. monker

monker Member

Hey, With the new Playbook OS 2 you are able to recompile any android app and release it for the Playbook. Could you guys do this? I really only takes max 2 hours.

2. SteveLV702

SteveLV702 Kayako Guru

I already did this and brought it up to Drew Lederman who is gonna bring it up with the rest of the team... 2 hours? took me less then 3 minutes :)

While right now only works on Blackberry Playbook (Tablet) will also work soon on phones with release of BB10

3. monker

monker Member

Well how do i get it? Lol writing from my PlayBook

4. SteveLV702

SteveLV702 Kayako Guru

wait for them to submit to app world and then download from there... I am a registered developer so I have a signing key and developer certificate... So I was able to do it.... And its not where I can just hand out the .bar file as would need my developer cert on device to install it..

5. monker

monker Member

ok cool can't wait, is it possible to put this in a forum for Blackberry? I would like to know ASAP as to when the app is released. I am wanting to test and make a business case for when the new playbooks come out.

6. Jamie Edwards

Jamie Edwards Chief Limey Staff Member

A BlackBerry app is in planning, but won't be out for some time yet.

7. SteveLV702

SteveLV702 Kayako Guru

Ya cool that making a native blackberry app but long time out so why not in the meantime release the Android App on Blackberry... It takes maybe 5 minutes to convert and a few minutes to upload.... If create free blackberry appworld developer account and then create me a user account ill upload my already converted file so dont even have to spend the 5 minutes converting or uploading :)

monker likes this.
  8. monker

monker Member

I second Steve

9. kverona

kverona New Member

+1!!